10 Wyoming Educators Earn 2014 Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Awards

(PR Newswire, May 7) – The Arch Coal Foundation named 10 outstanding Wyoming teachers today as recipients of the prestigious Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Award. Now in its 14th year, it is Wyoming’s longest-running, privately sponsored teacher recognition program.

The announcement was made by John W. Eaves, Arch Coal president and chief executive officer. He was accompanied by Gov. Matt Mead, First Lady Carol Mead and Wyoming Education Association President Kathy Vetter. The recipients were honored at a ceremony at Campbell County High School in Gillette.

The 2014 Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Award recipients are:

Robert Clark Hill Transitions Learning Center Casper
Deyonne Michelle Jackson Woods Learning Center Casper
Chad Lemley Wind River Elementary School Pavillion
Christopher Lubken Campbell County High School Gillette
Michael Mahoney Sage Valley Junior High School Gillette
Jennifer Marie Mellizo University of Wyoming Lab School Laramie
Peggy Lynn Miller Cody High School Cody
Lisa Lorraine Pingrey Douglas High School Douglas
Teresa J. Strube University of Wyoming Lab School Laramie
Wayne Thomas Tuttle Summit Elementary School Casper


“Today, we celebrate the success of 10 outstanding Wyoming classroom teachers,” Eaves said. “These individuals represent hundreds of professionals from across the state who strive daily to provide our young people with the kind of strong educational foundation upon which successful lives are built.

“Teachers work tirelessly not only to educate our children and serve our communities, but also to set an example as lifelong learners,” Eaves continued. “Their efforts too often go unrecognized, so on behalf of Arch Coal and our nearly 1,800 employees working in Wyoming, I am pleased to congratulate these 10 teachers for their dedication to excellence.”

“These teachers stand out and the students and colleagues who know them best have, in their recommendations, explained why they are truly exceptional,” Mead said. “It is a pleasure to again join Arch Coal in honoring this year’s winners. At the awards ceremony we hear directly from these teachers about their experiences and motivations, and each year I come away inspired.”

“These educators are fantastic examples of the caliber of teachers we have in Wyoming,” said Wyoming Education Association President Kathy Vetter. “These remarkable teachers challenge their students’ abilities, as well as teach them how to succeed. These teachers are true champions of public education in Wyoming.”

The public nominates teachers for the annual award, and a blue-ribbon panel of past award recipients selects the top 10. In addition to recognition, each teacher is presented with a $3,500 unrestricted cash award, a distinctive trophy and a classroom plaque.

The Teacher Achievement Awards are underwritten by the Arch Coal Foundation and are supported in program promotion by the Wyoming Department of Education, the Wyoming Education Association, the Wyoming library community, Taco John’s and Loaf ‘N Jug stores. Arch Coal and the Arch Coal Foundation have a long history of supporting educational and community causes in Wyoming. The Arch Coal Foundation also supports teacher recognition or grants programs in West Virginia and Colorado, as well as a number of other education-related causes.

Information about each of today’s 10 recipients, as well as past recipients, is posted atarchteacherawards.com .

St. Louis-based Arch Coal, Inc. ACI -1.08% is one of the world’s top coal producers for the global steel and power generation industries, serving customers on five continents. Its network of mining complexes is the most diversified in the United States, spanning every major coal basin in the nation. Arch Coal’s Thunder Basin Coal Company operates the Black Thunder and Coal Creek mines in Wyoming. For more information, visitarchcoal.com and responsible.archcoal.com .

Original article here.